Self Demotion

Yesterday was my last day in my role at IMOS as I’m taking a new position at the Hobart-based startup, Biteable, next week. In the world of online tools and DevOps it’s now interesting that a lot of the administration to do with me leaving could be done by me, myself. Previously it would have been up to an administrative staff member, someone from HR, and a system/network admin, to remove all my accounts and access. But yesterday essentially all of my electronic access was revoked by me. I was able to remove myself from our GitHub organisation, and someone wrote the git commit, which I got to merge, to remove my access from all of our Chef-provisioned systems and servers. I could have written it myself but per our procedures I wouldn’t have then been allowed to merge it. A breach like that could get you fired, you know!

I still had to return my access card and key, and manually farewell my colleagues, but it was still interesting pressing the buttons of my own demise.

Leave a comment